Default Interior Banner

Council

Role and Responsibility of Council

The governing body of the The Corporation of the Town of Goderich is it's Council. It consists of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and five Councillors. The ratepayers of the Municipality elect the Members of Council for a four-year term of office. Having both legislative and executive responsibilities, Council deals with matters that require policy direction, by-laws or by-law amendments and responses or action to pertinent issues.  

It is the Role of the Head of Council (the Mayor):

  • to act as chief executive officer of the municipality;
  • to preside over council meetings;
  • to provide leadership to council;
  • to represent the municipality at official functions; and
  • to carry out the duties as the head of council under this or any other act.

Town of Goderich Mayors past and present.

It is the role of Council:

  • to represent the public and to consider the well-being and interests of the municipality;
  • to develop and evaluate the policies and programs of the municipality;
  • to determine which services the municipality provides;
  • to ensure that administrative practices and procedures are in place to;
  • implement the decisions of council;
  • to maintain the financial integrity of the municipality; and
  • to carry out the duties of council under this or any other act.

Council Meetings

Town of Goderich Council meetings are live streamed using the Zoom platform as well as in-person at the Town Hall Council Chambers, located at Town Hall, 57 West Street, on a regular schedule. You can find up coming meetings dates and how to attend on our Agenda and Minutes page

If you wish to address Council at a Council Meeting, please submit a delegation request form prior to 12:00 PM the Tuesday prior to the meeting date.

Strategic Priorities of Council

2020 - 2022 Town of Goderich Corporate Strategic Plan
2020 - 2022 Town of Goderich Corporate Strategic Plan Progress Report

Council Contact Information for Goderich Town Council
 NamePositionPhoneEmail
  Myles Murdock Mayor 519-955-3973 mmurdock@goderich.ca 
  Trevor Bazinet Deputy Mayor 519-525-7570 trevorbazinetgoderich@gmail.com 
  Randy Carroll  Councillor 519-441-1391 rcarroll@goderich.ca 
  Leah Noel  Councillor  519-955-3254 lnoel@goderich.ca 
  Liz Petrie Councillor 519-524-7549 lpetrie@goderich.ca 
  Allison Segeren Councillor 519-955-6485 asegeren@goderich.ca 
  John Thompson Councillor  519-524-8144 jthompson@goderich.ca 

 

 

Goderich logo

Goderich Town Hall: 57 West Street, Goderich, ON N7A 2K5, Phone: 519-524-8344, Email: townhall@goderich.ca
Tourism Goderich: Phone: 519-524-6600, Toll-Free: 1-800-280-7637, Email: tourism@goderich.ca

Designed by eSolutionsGroup