Default Interior Banner


Role and Responsibility of Council

The governing body of the The Corporation of the Town of Goderich is it's Council. It consists of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and five Councillors. The ratepayers of the Municipality elect the Members of Council for a four-year term of office. Having both legislative and executive responsibilities, Council deals with matters that require policy direction, by-laws or by-law amendments and responses or action to pertinent issues.  

It is the role of the Head of Council (the Mayor):

  • to act as chief executive officer of the municipality;
  • to preside over council meetings;
  • to provide leadership to council;
  • to represent the municipality at official functions; and
  • to carry out the duties as the head of council under this or any other act.

Town of Goderich Mayors past and present.

It is the role of Council:

  • to represent the public and to consider the well-being and interests of the municipality;
  • to develop and evaluate the policies and programs of the municipality;
  • to determine which services the municipality provides;
  • to ensure that administrative practices and procedures are in place to;
  • implement the decisions of council;
  • to maintain the financial integrity of the municipality; and
  • to carry out the duties of council under this or any other act.

Council Meetings

Town of Goderich Council meetings are live streamed using the Zoom platform as well as in-person at the Town Hall Council Chambers, located at Town Hall, 57 West Street, on a regular schedule. You can find up coming meetings dates and how to attend on our Agenda and Minutes page

If you wish to address Council at a Council Meeting, please contact the Town Clerk

Strategic Priorities of Council

Town of Goderich Strategic Action Plan 2023 - 2027

Achieving Our Potential Town of Goderich Strategic Action Plan 2023 - 2027

Council Contact Information for Goderich Town Council
Councillor Picture Trevor Bazinet  Mayor 519-525-7570 
Councillor Photo Leah Noel Deputy Mayor 519-955-3254 
 Councillor Photo Randy Carroll Councillor  519-441-1391 
Councillors Picture Liz Petrie Councillor 519-525-7549 
 Councillor Photo Allison Segeren Councillor 519-955-6485 
Councillor Photo John Thompson Councillor  519-524-8144 



Goderich logo

Goderich Town Hall: 57 West Street, Goderich, ON N7A 2K5, Phone: 519-524-8344, Email:
Tourism Goderich: Phone: 519-524-6600, Toll-Free: 1-800-280-7637, Email:

By GHD Digital